Reviews

April 2015 — Danny Bowes of Salt Lake City Weekly says that Pilot Program is a “poignant, accessible work.”

April 2015 — Award-winning playwright Eric Samuelsen praises Pilot Program as “lovely,” “extraordinary,” and “a searing examination of” LDS polygamy. 

April 2015 — Les Roka of The Utah Review states that Pilot Program as “impressively executed” and that it “serves as one of Plan-B’s most definitive examples of its artistic brand.”

April 2015 — Salt Lake Magazine says Pilot Program  is “truly groundbreaking.”

April 2015 — The Utah Theatre Bloggers Association’s Dave Mortensen writes “You’d do well to see this perspective on faith in Plan-B’s Pilot Program.

April 2015 — Sara Katherine Staheli Hanks of the Feminist Mormon Housewives says that Pilot Program is “complex,” “rich,” and “an evening well spent.”

April 2015 —SLC Feminist Chelsea Kilpack describes Pilot Program as “a gut-wrenching journey of exploration.”

April 2015 — Artists of Utah’s 15 Bytes calls Pilot Program “excellent” and “a fine tragicomedy.”

April 2015 — The Salt Lake Tribune says “Plan-B’s Pilot Program is thought-provoking and haunting.”

March 2014 — Zach Archuleta The Utah Theatre Bloggers Association says that Pride and Prejudice is “an intimate piece of theatre full of the wit and precision of the original.” Here is his review.

March 2014 — Blair Howell of The Deseret News calls Mel’s stage adaptation of Pride and Prejudice “rich and humorous” and “a monumental achievement.” Read the rest of his review here.

March 2014 — Ashley Kelly of Front Row Reviewers calls the script for Pride and Prejudice “a breath of fresh air”. Read the full review here.

August 2013 — Theric Jepson shares a brief but positive reader’s response to the script of Martyrs’ Crossing (scroll down a bit to 092).

February 2013 — Eris91 of the Young Mormon Feminists writes a very positive and open Review of Little Happy Secrets.

February 2013 — Theater Lover Megan Pedersen reviews Little Happy Secrets: Keeping Secrets — “It’s What We Do!”

February 2013 — Front Row Reviewers Utah’s Ben Christensen writes that In Echo Theatre’s Little Happy Secrets, Big Things Come in Small Packages.

February 2013 — Liz Lund Oppelt of the Utah Theatre Bloggers write a very positive review: Little Happy Secrets: a simple and honest play.

February 2013 — Kelly Johnson of Backstage Utah points out that Little Happy Secrets Tackles Big Issues.

December 2012 — Callie Oppendisano of the Utah Theatre Bloggers Association discusses what makes Martyrs’ Crossing: A Provoking Play.

December 2012 — Joel Applegate of Front Row Reviewers writes that Martyrs’ Crossing: A Story of Joan of Arc Inspires.

December 2012 — A Theater Lover Megan Pedersen’s very positive response to Martyrs’ Crossing at the Echo Theatre: Martyrs’ Crossing Soars with Beauty!

September 2012 — Front Row Reviewer Kara Henry’s response to Persuasion: Zion Theatre Company’s Persuasion Would Make Jane Austen Proud. Utah Theatre Bloggers Association staff member Amber Peck also attended: Persuasion feels like Austen to me.

February 2012  Utah Theatre Bloggers reviewed a set of short romantic comedies produced by Provo’s Covey Center for the Arts, including one written by Mel: Blind Date is better than the real thing.

August 2011 — There were several solid reviews for the Salt Lake Acting Company’s Fearless Fringe production of Little Happy Secrets, including: Utah Theatre Bloggers, The Salt Lake Tribune, and Utah’s Art Magazine 15 Bytes. **Readers should be wary, however; all three reviews include serious spoilers.

March 2011 — With the opening of Persuasion at Brigham Young University came two reviews: The Deseret News and Utah Theatre Bloggers.

January 2011 — Utah Theatre Bloggers reviews the Southern Utah University production of Little Happy Secrets: A little, happy production of Little Happy Secrets.

October 2010 — Mahonri Stewart wrote a 5-part review of the New Play Project anthology Out of the Mount: 19 from New Play Project, including Little Happy Secrets, on the blog A Motley Vision. You can read his reaction to the play here.

April 2010 The Deseret News reviews: A Flickering inspired by early films.

April 2010 — The Utah Theatre Bloggers Association says A Flickering in Provo is not to be missed.

April 2010 The UVU Review reviews A Flickering: A theatrical glimpse into the origins of film.

July 2009 — BYU professor Gideon Burton reviews Standing Still Standing: Standing Ovation for Standing Still Standing.

July 2009 Rhombus Magazine reviews Standing Still Standing.

July 2009 — InThisWeek.com reviews Standing Still StandingA Provo playwright delves into the surreal world of a young wife and the husband who’s sleeping through their marriage.

July 2009 The Deseret News’ Mormon Times discusses the new production of Standing Still Standing: Dealing with LDS cabin fever.

March 2009 — BYU professor Gideon Burton’s response to Little Happy Secrets: A Brave and Reverent Mormon Play.

March 2009 — Association for Mormon Letters member Nan McCulloch’s review of Little Happy Secrets.

March 2009 — Playwright/AML member Thom Duncan comments on Little Happy Secrets.

December 2006 The Deseret News names BYU’s production of Martyrs’ Crossing (under the title Angels Unaware) as one of the best Utah Valley theatre productions of 2006: Year-end Theater Wrap-up.

March 2006 — Mahonri Stewart reviews Martyrs’ Crossing (under the title Angels Unaware) for the Association of Mormon Letters.

March 2006 The Deseret News reviews Martyrs’ Crossing (under the title: Angels Unaware).

  • I vote yes. Any of the above. If anyone can pull it off, you can.

  • Alison Anderson

    Technically isn’t everything we write basically a re-telling of another story even if it’s “original”? My vote is that you spin off a story, but have it be in a contemporary setting. That Perpetua story sounds pretty awesome though I don’t know how you’d make it contemporary.

    Anyway your idea reminds me of the book I just wrote an essay on for my class called The Hours by Michael Cunningham. He basically follows the plot of Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf only he has 3 characters in 3 different time periods (one is Virginia herself) and he narrates their thoughts as they go through one day. It’s rather pretentious in its focus on gay/lesbian culture and celebrity references, which I think gave it prestige enough to get Meryl Streep, Nicole Kidman, and Juliane Moore to film a movie based off the book. So if you’re looking for this new play to “stick around”, going with a cool spin off something canonized has good potential. But I’m sure that, unlike Cunningham, you’ll be able to write your tragic Greek-styled play and not come off being pretentious.

    Or maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about. I’m sure whatever you decide will be awesome. And if you know a lot about the Greek/Roman myths, I say definitely go for it.

  • Thumbs Up.

  • DL

    See also The Penelopiad, by Margaret Atwood. A retelling of The Odyssey from Penelope’s perspective.

  • As a lover of Greek theater (although I haven’t written in that style necessarily, I have written on Greek subject matter), and a lover of historical plays, I heartily would love to see you tackle the subject matter, especially the stories you mentioned… they sound fascinating.